Why This Christian is a Libertarian.

My stepson and I went shopping the other day.  I appreciate time with him because, in a way, I’m inclined to re-live my teenage years.  He’s 16, and things are becoming drastically new to him.  Well, admittedly, I am one of those NEW things having just married his mom 7 months ago.

Anyway, as we were walking back to my truck he asked,

So, are you still voting for Ron Paul?

I was impressed that he was motivated to discuss anything relatively political!  Here’s a kid who for the first 15 years of his life was told NOT to become involved, even in the slightest, in anything political (see: Jehovah’s Witnesses and their perspectives on “world governments”), asking about Ron Paul!  Wow — high five!!

I looked at him and with hesitation only long enough to absorb the awesome moment, said, “ABSOLUTELY!”

Later, it dawned on me that I haven’t been very forthcoming about my political intentions, which is quite odd since just 6 years ago I hosted one of South Eastern North Carolina’s most dynamic political talk shows!  Perhaps-no, definitely-it’s due to my newfound fascination with Jesus, His might, His preeminence, and His desire for my life.

So, there you have it, in a nutshell.  I’ve returned to my rather-naive political aspirations and, instead, adopted a zeal for Christ’s teachings.  After all, more times than not, Jesus tells me to:

Be still and know that I am God

–Psalm 46:10, or:

Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

–Matthew 6:34.

Yet, there’s still a portion of me that peeks every so often upon the front page of a newspaper.  Or, perhaps I’ll click over to drudgereport.com, or via StumbleUpon I’ll come across an impressive–and political–blog entry, enticing debate.  And, to satisfy this remnant of rampant revolutionary ramblings, I’ve decided to create a quick-list for the politically mused.  It’s title is a dead giveaway.

Why This Christian is a Libertarian.

First of all, in today’s partisan-led political platform, there’s actually very little tolerance for anything outside of the mainstream core.  If, for example, you were to tell someone you held rather Conservative beliefs, but advocated the legalization of marijuana, chances are you’d receive a confused look and may even be outcasted.  Similar is my undying support for the nomination for Presidential candidate, Congressional Representative Dr. Ron Paul–despite the fact I’ve received criticism from my friends on both the left and the right for “throwing my vote away.”  (I’ll have to write about that another day!).

In 2008, I was part of a very active youthful campaign in the Carolina’s for Dr. Ron Paul’s Presidental campaign.  In 2007, on the air, I declared my support for him and hosted numerous social meetups, not limited to traveling several hundred miles!  Early in 2008, I had the opportunity to shake his hand, congradulating him on his steadfast Constitutional stance.

My friend, Matthew, Dr. Paul, and Myself in Charleston, SC

Yet, I was viewed as a “part-of-the-problem,” by other Conservatives.

In 2008, the GOP nominated the decorated veteran, John McCain to run against the inexperienced Barack Obama.  I believe, overall, members of the GOP felt the election of their candidate was going to be a walk in the park, banking on the gap in experience.  However, what they failed to consider was the drastically growing amount of young voters and even seasoned voters who were sharing a similar theory: “perhaps, the more experience someone has in Washington politics, the worse off they are?”

Nonetheless, my support for what was a “third-party” candidate was viewed, by many, as working against the only likely candidate who could beat Barack Obama.  Even after considering the liklihood of the possibility, I neglected to switch my vote, stood on principle and maintained a strong support for the Doctor.  In fact, not only did I stand strong in defense of my vote, but I challenged anyone to prove to me how Barack Obama and John McCain had any substantial difference.

Well, enough backstory.  Here’s a small listing behind the reasoning.

Libertarian Party = Freedom.

Reason #1:  Libertarians are the minority.  So are Christians.  Beg to differ?  Even Jesus forewarned of a narrow road and small gate for those who find life (Matthew 7:14).  Yeah, but why is that cool?  Because, I prefer a small amount of righteousness to a large amount of error any day!

Reason #2:  Libertarians value life.  Of course, this implies that all other parties don’t, and, perhaps…they don’t.  I mean, after all, it’s by your fruit you are known.  Let’s see: generally speaking, Republicans favor endless, and costly wars, and Democrats favor inexcusable, and inhumane abortions.  Woah–back the truck up!  Libertarians favor abortions, too.  No, they don’t.  Not the abortions permitted by Roe Vs. Wade (1973).  Libertarians, (ok, not all, but generally speaking) are opposed to unconstitutional and illegitimate governmental rulings.  The Supreme Court decision in the Roe v. Wade case was in excess of the Court’s own Constitutional authority.  According to the US Constitution, the power to make laws is vested in Congress and retained by the State legislatures, not the Supreme Court.  It’s really common sense:  why let seven unelected dudes determine the laws of your land?  The Libertarian Party is the only US political party with a platform of strong opposition to encroaching and overwhelming power given to the federal government at large.
Oh, and Jesus, He favors life too.  In fact, unlike ANY OTHER “politically-charged” opinion, being “Pro-Choice” is one motive that I can find ABSOLUTELY NO evidence of support for in the Scriptures.
So, the “Jesus was a Democrat/Republican” bumpersticker–yeah, not so much.  But the “Jesus Votes Pro-Life” sticker-now that has some validity!

Reason #3: Libertarians believe in self-control.  This one expands into a lot of things:  gun control, marijuana (drugs), health care, and so on.  So, I’ll be brief, and focus more on the Scripture.  While many like to view God’s Word as a list of “don’ts,” and often times they’ll recall (and misrepresent) the 10 Commandments, really, the basis for a Christian belief stems in the victory of Jesus.  Jesus came and fulfilled all the law.

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

–Matthew 22:37-40

Now, what does this have to do with self control?  Well, God installed free will in each one of us.  He gave us the opportunity to turn from our sinful, default behavior and embrace the life He offers through the new covenant established by His son, Jesus the Christ.  However, that means you have the FREEDOM to choose NOT to.  Similarly, I have the FREEDOM to defend my home with a firearm, but I also have the FREEDOM not to.  The outcome is in YOUR hands.  Just like your salvation.  The opportunity is only there if you cast yourself into the hands of God (your SELF).

Reason #4: The Libertarian Creed: “Libertarians believe the answer to America’s political problems is the same commitment to freedom that earned America its greatness: a free-market economy and the abundance and prosperity it brings; a dedication to civil liberties and personal freedom that marks this country above all others; and a foreign policy of non-intervention, peace, and free trade as prescribed by America’s founders.”

Christians can adopt a similar creed: “Followers of Christ believe the answer to every man’s problems is the same commitment to love that Jesus displayed on Skull Hill: an unconditional love and adoration that overflows the righteous and spills onto the unrighteous.  A love that begins with loving God above all things, and, therefore, loving others as oneself.  In doing so, foreign policies become personal policies.  Peace becomes natural and inclusive in all actions.  And, trade requires no regulation because it would, without a doubt, be fair.”

Be peaceful, my friends.

One comment on “Why This Christian is a Libertarian.

  1. Kent Wilsey says:

    I agree. Drop me an e-mail, we’ll get together some time. I could use your prayers as I run for office.

Leave a Reply

